Opposites Attract

My husband likes to get up in the morning and open all of the blinds in the house so he can see out.  I like to keep them closed so that I can bum around in my pajamas as long as I want without people looking in.  He likes his shoes on from the moment he gets up, (slippers,) until the moment he goes to bed at night.  I LOVE to go barefoot, and will do so until the last possible moment that the weather forces me to put on shoes.  He loves active and adventurous activities, while I can barely ride a roller coaster.  He can strike up a conversation with a stranger, while I am reserved and basically shy.  He is amazingly strong, where I need his help to open a jar or lid.  He has unending reserves of patience with people, but I get tired of hearing their whining.  He loves to fish, I love to garden. His idea of a great meal is a big, ol’ chunk of beef, while I love chicken, pasta or a salad. His idea of a good time can involve noise and activity, while I love peace and quiet. He likes jacket weather, I love it warm. When he worships, he outwardly shows what his heart is expressing.  I stand quietly, with tears rolling down my cheeks.

We are opposites. I think that is what attracted me to him. (Besides the fact that I thought he was so handsome and that gleam in his eye as he smiled helped, too!) Many times, you will see that people who get along together well have completely opposite personalities.  It keeps a marriage interesting and helps us to see things from a different point of view. It has worked for us for over 30 years!

It was the same thing before I came to know Christ.  He is perfection, holy, just, true.  He cannot be around sin.  I was a sinner, far from perfect, going after my own thing and doing what seemed best to me.  I was the exact opposite of Christ!  When I first met Him, I was attracted to Him – He drew me in with His love, His care, His purity.  He was attracted to me, in spite of my sin and He came after me, determined to win me.  We come from extreme differences, yet we were made for each other.  In my relationship with Christ, I want to become more like Him.   That doesn’t mean changing my personality, but refining it with fire, giving myself to Him in such a way that He is pleased with who I am and who I am becoming through the years.  You see, I am His bride and He is my Husband.  He chose me, in spite of being completely opposites.  As in a marriage, together we figure out how to form our relationship to the best of its potential.  As a result, I become more like Him!

Ephesians 4:22-24

22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

2 Corinthians 2:14

14 I am grateful that God always makes it possible for Christ to lead us to victory. God also helps us spread the knowledge about Christ everywhere, and this knowledge is like the smell of perfume.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Opposites Attract

  1. Elayne says:

    É interessante a maneira que você conta suas histórias pessoais e leva para um lado espiritual, eu gosto muito. Você tem um dom de escrever

Leave a comment