WAX ON, WAX OFF

So, to save a few bucks, I decided to waxtackle waxing my eyebrows myself.  The box stated that it had patterns, just pick the eyebrows you want, peel them off the packet and place them on your eyebrows, then wax and, VOILA! Gorgeous eyebrows, done at a fraction of the price in a salon.  Simple, right?  Ahem..  The melting of the wax was not a problem. I picked out the perfect brow, stuck them on, and began to place the wax. Here is where I began to have a problem! The wax began dripping off the paddle, moving my eyebrow sticker out of the way – oh, no! Next thing you know, I have a very thin eyebrow!!!!!  Not to panic, I can just make the other brow match.  As I apply the wax to the other side, it drops down onto my eye lashes – OUCH!!!!  Oh, no!  How do I remove that without losing all of my eyelashes??????  Something that seemed so simple had turned into way more than I could handle.

As I tried to remove the excess wax with warm compresses, and save my eyelashes, my thoughts began buzzing how this relates to other simple things in our lives. We decide to try something new, thinking it is easy and fun, but the results turn into a nightmare in our lives.

  • A girl or woman may think that dating  a certain guy might be fun, and even though she knows that he’s not a man of principles or integrity, she thinks that it will be simple – a few dates, a bit of fun, then she’d go back to waiting for a guy that is the right kind of guy.  It rarely ends up like that, as she falls for the, “bad boy,” and before she can extract herself, he has dragged her to a place of despair.
  • Knowing yourself able to withstand the peer pressure of what others are into, you know you can go to a party and have some fun without joining in on the drinking, or the drugs, or the casual sex.  Simple, right? The next thing you know, you wake up in a strange bed, not sure who is in it with you.
  • You have some friends over for coffee, a much needed girl time, but then the conversations begin to turn into gossip and before you know it, you are in there with them, talking about people behind their back.
  • In an attempt to obtain a better life for you and your family, you accept the job of your dreams, sure that this simple change in your life is what you want. Several years later, you find that the time spent away from your spouse and your children is something that you will never get back, and you will pay for the consequences for the rest of your life.

Simple things, right? Yet the sorrow that can result from these simple things are much worse than waxing off your eyebrows and lashes! Before you rush into the next “simple” thing, here are some thoughts of wisdom:

Proverbs 19:2

It is dangerous and sinful to rush into the unknown.

Luke 14:28-30

28-30 “Is there anyone here who, planning to build a new house, doesn’t first sit down and figure the cost so you’ll know if you can complete it? If you only get the foundation laid and then run out of money, you’re going to look pretty foolish. Everyone passing by will poke fun at you: ‘He started something he couldn’t finish.’

Proverbs 15:22

22 Plans go wrong with too few counselors; many counselors bring success.

Numbers 9:8

Moses said, “Give me some time; I’ll find out what God says in your circumstances.”

Isaiah 28:16

16 So this is what the Sovereign Lord says:

“See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone,
    a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation;
the one who relies on it
    will never be stricken with panic.

1 Corinthians 14:33 

God doesn’t stir us up into confusion;

Hosea 6:3

Oh, that we might know the Lord! Let us press on to know him, and he will respond to us as surely as the coming of dawn or the rain of early spring.’”

John 10:14, 27

14-18 “I am the Good Shepherd. I know my own sheep and my own sheep know me. In the same way, the Father knows me and I know the Father. My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me.

Be encouraged to stop and think before you act.  Simple things are rarely as simple as they seem and most have consequences.  Today I face the world with thin eyebrows and only half of my eyelashes, but they will grow back 🙂 Will you be able to un-do what you have rushed into?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

