I Wanna look like That!

Right now, everything is beautifully blooming. Colors are amazing, scents are wafting over the air with gentle breezes.  Have you ever seen a Chestnut tree in bloom?

stock-footage-blossoming-chestnut-treeDouglas_Fir2

 

 

 

 

Don’t they look like little Christmas trees?

How about Tulip trees and tulips?  They look alike.

TreeTulip01bf32fc0ac7427e0563072db

 

 

 

 

Lilacs vs. Butterfly bush?

Lilac branchbutterfly_bush

 

 

 

 

A Snowball bush and a snowball?

snow ball flowers . (4)Snowballs

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, one more!

LadyBug_fullladybird-vw-beetle-custom-paint-job2

 

 

 

 

 

Some Christians are a lot like that, too.  Some call themselves Christians, but their words and actions do not match the meaning of the word.  They may look like a Christian when they come to church, cleaning up their language, talking the lingo, playing the game, but when they walk out the church door, their real self takes over.  They confuse the public by saying that they are Christians, when there is no difference in their talk, their walk, their dress.  They think they are fooling some, but really, they are only fooling themselves.

Being a Christian is not living in the USA.  It is not going to church when you feel like it or need prayer for something.  It is not acting like one when you feel like it and doing things your own way when you don’t.  Being a Christian is a discipline that you take on because you have determined in your heart that you want to please God more than ANYONE else! Even YOURSELF!  When this is the most important thing in your life, you will want to be the real deal, not an imitation.  You will want to see what God’s Word has for you, not just read a verse here or there when the mood strikes.  You will want to go worship with others on a regular basis and soak in the music, share in the joys and sorrows of the family of God and hear the message that is meant to help you improve an area in your life.  You will want your children to be raised with the standards God gives us. You will want God’s way so much that your desires become His desires. And so much more!

So don’t be a look-alike. Be the real deal.  Or at least begin.  Ask the Lord to help you in any of the areas that are weak in your life.  Then, just like you get up to go to school or work or whatever you do each day, make God’s teachings a discipline in your life and make today the first day of a beautiful and fragrant future!

 

“Live Like That”

Sometimes I think
What will people say of me
When I’m only just a memory
When I’m home where my soul belongs

Was I love
When no one else would show up
Was I Jesus to the least of us
Was my worship more than just a song

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that

Am I proof
That You are who you say You are
That grace can really change our heart
Do I live like Your love is true

People pass
And even if they don’t know my name
Is there evidence that I’ve been changed
When they see me, do they see You

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that

I want to show the world the love You gave for me
I’m longing for the world to know the glory of the King

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that
I want to live like that

Mark 12:30

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.

Ephesians 5:1

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children.

THAT’S what I want to look like!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

