Weddings, Cancer, Brazil

33 - Justin and Maureen exitAs we are about to celebrate one more wedding, the last son to get married, my mind goes back to almost 3 years ago when my first son got married.  The first one is always so exciting, and it was a beautiful day with the sun shining brightly, perfect for their outdoor wedding on quads.

Two years later, the second son married his sweetheart on  a glorious, sunshiny day!  They decided on a traditional, indoor wedding.  The bride came and spent the week before the wedding with 401399_10151166422858070_1128153193_nus.  It was a grand day, and I was so proud of my handsome husband and gorgeous sons!

Less than 3 years from when the first one decided to marry, our third son will be married, in less than a month! They plan an outdoor wedding if the weather co-operates and the wedding fever is in full bloom around here.  Three sons, three weddings, in three years. What joy we are having!

Alongside of the happiness in our family, is the sorrow that has pounded our hearts at the news of the return of my mother’s cancer. It was like a death sentence had been handed down, the constriction to our hearts a pain no one should have to go through, the knowledge of what is coming a sadness to our core. We cherish each moment, each conversation, hoping and praying for more time and no pain for her journey. Cancer – the beast.  Heaven – the hope.

cassia-fistula-3In June, we are to take a return trip to Brazil. For the most part, it stays in the back of my mind.  I have a wedding to get through first, then I will begin to get excited for the trip.  Occasionally, my husband will talk about his hope to fish in the Amazon River this time, a dream of his.  He, my brother and I all will discuss the food we are SO looking forward to tasting once again, farofaand our mouths will drool, and then, there is the COFFEE!  Oh, to think of tasting that again is wonderful!

tucuma

As if that isn’t enough, we will have time to spend with some of the most wonderful people on earth. Joy unspeakable!

Happiness. 
Sadness.
Joy.
 

All at the same time. How do we handle such emotional ups and downs? I was reading an earlier blog post entitled, “Don’t Even Try…”  I posted Psalm 126:1-3 at the end:

It seemed like a dream, too good to be true…
We laughed, we sang,
    we couldn’t believe our good fortune.
We were the talk of the nations—
    “God was wonderful to them!”
God was wonderful to us;
    we are one happy people.

These verses obviously showed my joyous state of mind at that point in time. What Scripture would show the depth of feeling when I think about Mom’s cancer?  Do I go after it?  Do I wallow in the concerns of what is ahead? For this, I take my Mom’s cue and follow her lead.  She keeps a positive frame of mind, trusts the Lord with her future and makes the most of her days. Yesterday in church, we read Matthew 5:45 –

This is what God does. He gives his best—the sun to warm and the rain to nourish—to everyone, regardless: the good and bad, the nice and nasty.

Other verses convince us that bad things happen to good people and good things happen to bad people.  We take the bad along with the good in life and trust God with His infinite wisdom.

So, while there are wonderful trips to my childhood country to take and the beautiful joining of a young couple in marriage and cancer rearing its ugly head, I will stick to Philippians and do my very best to follow the sage advice given:

Philippians 4:11

… I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.

God bless you on your journey.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weddings, Cancer, Brazil

  1. Marcella Knupp Antrim says:

    I have been praying for you and yours; and see that the verse you have leading you is what will be the only thing anyone can really count on; GODS WORD He never breaks his promises. Through all the heartache I have had and have HE has never let me down; you can count on that . While going through these things it will be the prayers of others I have found hold me steady as I often can’t be steady. You and your writings have been a blessing to me. Thank You~~

  2. Dorothy Downey says:

    Isn’t it strange, Barb, that we can have so much happiness on one hand, and yet so much sadness on the other? We are so happy for your weddings and going to Brazil, and yet we have so much sorrow over the return of your Mom’s cancer. We are so thankful that God is the same through each of these situations. This was really a good article, Barb. Even in the midst of your heartache, God uses you to bless o thers! Love you, A.Dorothy

  3. Elayne says:

    Sabemos que Deus nos dá a paz que excedo todo o entendimento. Você nos ensina MUITO com a sua maneira de agir e pensar sobre as coisas, Barbara. Amo ler seus artigos, me encoraja, me ansina, me adverte, me ajuda a proceguir. Te amo. Deus te Abençoe e estamos orando por sua mãe, casamento do seu filho e sua viagem.

Leave a Reply

