Tails, Soul Patches and JNCO

Raising three sons, I have seen many changes in styles with clothing, hair and other things.  In our home, those were things that could be negotiated.

I remember:

  • JNCO stage – large, flared pants with the blazing emblem on pockets or legs, shirts blaring the name brand
  • Sweatpants stage
  • Boot shoes (!)
  • Over sized t-shirts
  • Under sized t-shirts
  • Camo

jnco

And that was just the clothing! Then there was the hair.

I remember:

  • Long hair (with mirrored sunglasses, of course!)
  • Shaved head on one side, with long hair on the other side
  • Tail (no matter what length the hair, a small section of hair that grew long in the back)

15

Over the years, these things have come and gone.  They may have attracted looks or comments, but they were harmless.  Then there has been the facial hair.  Oh, my!

  • Goatees
  • Soul patches
  • Beards

soulpatch

This was probably the most difficult area for me.  Guys take great pride in their whiskers!  Almost all of my 4 men have tried the soul patch, because I dislike it so – that includes my hubby!  One of my pet peeves has always been an unshaved neckline when a man has a beard. If you are going to have a beard, at least trim the neck area!!  Did they care?  Not really 🙂

My sons are grown and  make their own decisions on these things.  I still occasionally will ask, “Don’t you think you could use an haircut?” or, “You need to trim up your beard!”  However, whether they dress the way I like or wear a soul patch or try out a new hair style, they are unconditionally loved.  The way they look is only outward appearance – what counts is on the inside.  My love never fails, it never gives up (or out.)

This past Sunday, this song was sung in church and I’ve had it on my mind ever since.  Just as I love my sons (and husband) so much, nothing they do will EVER change my love for them.  And in the same way, God’s love for each of us will never change.  If you haven’t experienced that kind of love, look into it – God is just waiting for your call!

I Samuel 16:7

7 The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

