Comfortable Clothes

For awhile now, I have gotten into the habit of wearing my son’s cast off t-shirts.  He gets a free t-shirt almost everywhere he goes to speak, brings them home and I get a new wardrobe!  Pretty great, eh?!

There is nothing that feels quite so good as to come home and slip into an oversize t-shirt – I even have one in mind.  It is too big for me, and looks just awful when I wear it, but it feels SOOOOO good!!  Unfortunately, it is very easy to want comfort and forget fashion.  This was brought to a reality recently when I needed something more dressy to wear than jeans and a t-shirt, and had nothing to wear.  It made me realize just how much I had gotten into, “sloppy mode,” even though it was also so comfortable.

I don’t think it is bad to come home and want to feel comfortable – just the opposite.  However, a well-rounded wardrobe should be available for all different situations.  The Bible also teaches us this point:

1 Corinthians 9:22

22  I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.

Just as we need different clothes for different situations, we also need to be prepared to be all things to all people.  AND we need to be comfortable in doing it.  If we are fake, it will not go unnoticed.  We cannot be everything to everyone, but we can be ourselves, be prepared at all times for what someone else needs, and therefore, be prepared.

It’s easy to get comfortable in our spiritual lives, just like it is for me to throw on a t-shirt and jeans for every occasion.  We forget to, “freshen up,” making sure we know the Word of God, keep in contact daily with Him, and able to answer any questions that might come our way.  We get sloppy, then a situation arises, and we can rummage through our entire, “spiritual wardrobe,”  and not have anything to, “wear.”

Don’t be caught off guard!

1 Peter 3:15

15  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.

Remember the situation I described above where I couldn’t find anything to wear because of getting too comfortable in my clothes?  I do not want to be unprepared to help show someone the HOPE that I have.  I am going to work on the wardrobe issue, and at the same time, work on not getting too comfortable in the spiritual, and miss an opportunity to share Christ.

How about you? Is this true of you, too?

Jesus paid much too high a price
For us to pick and choose who should come
And we are the body of Christ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJL7Eis0Rb0

God bless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

