Foot Modeling

My mother and my sister have such beautiful hands.  They have always taken such good care of them, and kept them well manicured.  I love the way my sister’s fingernails look when they are polished.  My hands, however, are a mess!  I was a nail biter until nearly my high school years, biting my nails right down into the quick.  I ruined my nails from that treatment.  My hands are rough and scarred from not taking good enough care of them.

Feet are a different matter!  I remember that as a child, I thought I had the prettiest feet with such cute toes!  A friend of mine, (who also thought she had beautiful feet,) and I would pretend we were foot models.  We’d stand in our flip-flops with one foot turned to the side like a model, (or so we thought!) and act like we were modeling our beautiful feet!  Mercy!!

In reality, it doesn’t matter what our hands or feet look like.  I have seen thousands of hands over my life, in all conditions and colors. Some are rough and ugly, some are well cared for and soft.  Feet are the same – as long as they get you where you need to be, they don’t need to be gorgeous – foot model not needed!

For me, the most important thing about hands and feet is that they do what they were meant to do, and that is to serve others.  Hands were made to touch, caress, lift, rub, smooth. They were made for cooking, cleaning and any other kind of service.  Feet were made for walking, running, going, standing – whatever the need calls for.

My mother’s beautiful hands have done so much!  When she gave her life to Christ, she also gave Him her hands and feet for service.  She used them whenever, however and for whatever was needed in order to get the message of Christ out to those in need.  Whether it was a meal, office work, sewing, teaching, visiting the sick, training or mentoring, her hands and feet were fully committed.

The world is full of people in need and our hands and feet were made to help.  If you are only getting your nails done to look pretty, and if your feet are only good for modeling, you are definitely not getting the best of what they were created to do!  So, the next time you pull out that bottle of polish, or put lotion on your feet, or find that pair of sandals that make your feet look good, ask yourself, “What can my hands/feet do to help someone today?”  In the meantime, enjoy what God has given you and make the best use of them!

1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

11 Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before. 12 Then people who are not Christians will respect the way you live, and you will not need to depend on others.

Ecclesiastes 9:10

10 Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.

Isaiah 52:7

How beautiful…
are the feet of those who bring good news..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foot Modeling

  1. I do have fingernails on my hands and i give out hugs and love and prayers with them. As for my feet they’re a mess. But i can still walk where I need to go

  2. Debbie Keith says:

    Barb, thank you so much for this memory and for the message behind the stories! Yes, I remember those days and have had the same kind of “flash memory” a few times about it. This is so interesting because not long ago when I was in the kitchen with mom, she was bemoaning how her hands have aged. To tell you the truth, I’ve always seen her hands as so beautiful, for the very reason you’ve said — they have served so many, and served so well. I hope my hands look as beautiful as hers do when I’m eighty. I hope they have stories of service to tell!

    Thank you for these thoughts, Barb 🙂

    • I remember your Mom’s hands, Debbie – I always thought they were so beautiful, as she taught me chords on the piano. Her hands, it is true, are servant hands, beautiful in the sight of God and all who know her. May we follow in their footsteps! I’m happy to be a foot model alongside of you as we serve God together, though miles apart!

  3. My feet and hands are both a mess. I have worn out many shoes throughout my job as a nurse and an nurses aide. Many miles of walking. My hands take a beating as well, but most importantly I have the ability to create with paint , canvas and a brush. God gave me these tools to use.

Leave a Reply

