Mother of the Groom

So my oldest son is getting married in 4 months – the last time one of my sons got married, I spent MONTHS looking for the perfect dress for the wedding.  I wanted my son to look at me and be proud of what he saw.  I hit every store in town and out-of-town, in any town we visited, resale shops and consignment shops, and the internet.  I ordered a dress, shipped it back, ordered another, shipped it back, etc.  It was grueling!  I found one that I thought would work, but when I went to order it, it was out of stock – just my luck!  This went on and on, until I despaired of ever finding a dress to wear.  One day, the dress I had liked was back in stock, so I ordered it.  I remember the day that my son came over and I proudly showed it to him, hanging on the wall, in a plastic cover.  He went up to it, touched the fabric and said, “Man, Mom, I don’t know about this!”  I told him it was the dress and he’d see.  He said, “If you’re happy with it, then I am, too.”  On the day of his wedding, he said, “Mom, you were right – that is the right dress and you look beautiful!”  That was worth every single, agonizing moment of shopping for the dress!!!

So now, the hunt is on again for just the right dress for this wedding. Again, I don’t want to disappoint.  Only this time, there is a problem – I have gained enough weight to be in that oh-so-dreadful in between sizes place! Thus, the need to start working out.  The weather is iffy, but on good days, I want to begin walking.  On bad days, we have the treadmill or I can do aerobics.  Either way, I need to get started if I’m going to fit into my dress, (which, by the way, I have not yet found!!  Yikes!)

One of my friends is so disciplined in keeping a healthy body.  She eats right, works out regularly, taught aerobics and runs 5K’s.  She knows exactly how much exercise she would have to do if there is a time of indulgence.  She takes care of her body and does not let it slip into disrepair.

Why is it that so many of us wait on things until they have gone too far?

slack 1  (slk)adj.

1. Moving slowly; sluggish: a slack pace.

2. Lacking in activity; not busy: a slack season for the travel business.

3. Not tense or taut; loose: a slack rope; slack muscles.

4. Lacking firmness; flaccid: a slack grip.

5. Lacking in diligence or due care or concern; negligent: a slack worker.

6. Flowing or blowing with little speed

It might be our weight, it could be our morals, or our devotional lives – any number of things.  Why is it that when we know we would feel better and be better people if we kept to the discipline of these things we still go slack on them? Read the verses below and gain inspiration straight from the Word to encourage you to move ahead in whatever area is defeating you or taking glory away from God. I fully intend to get back into shape and look good for my son’s wedding – and I hope to stay that way, having reached my goal!  I wish the same for you.

1 Corinthians 10:31

31 When you eat or drink or do anything else, always do it to honor God.

Ephesians 2:10

10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

2 Corinthians 7:1

7 My friends, God has made us these promises. So we should stay away from everything that keeps our bodies and spirits from being clean. We should honor God and try to be completely like him.

2 Timothy 1:7

7 The Spirit gives us power, love, and self-control.

Titus 2:12

12 He taught us to give up our wicked ways and our worldly desires and to live decent and honest lives in this world.

1 Timothy 4:8

“Physical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.”

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

 24-25You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally.

26-27I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.

2 Chronicles 15:7

So you must be brave. Don’t give up! God will honor you for obeying him.

Philippians 4:13

13 Christ gives me the strength to face anything.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother of the Groom

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

  2. Elayne says:

    Vai encontrar um vestido tão lindo quanto ao que usou no casamento do seu outro filho! Ficará como uma MODELA! hahaha…

Leave a Reply

