Good to G-R-E-A-T!

When my husband shops for clothes and finds a great deal, he will buy several of the same item, just different colors.  However, when he buys any kind of fishing lure or equipment, every item is unique for every sort of fishing possibility.

My oldest son can take any items I have on hand and turn it into a scrumptious, tasty meal.  When he got his first dog, only the very best of everything was suitable to go into that dog’s mouth!

Son #2 can roll out of bed and throw on any item of clothing and feel fine, but when it comes to his tools, only the best will do.

Our youngest will go cheap on many things to save a buck, but when it comes to skateboarding, he knows what he wants and what will work and will pay the price.

We are all made up differently – the things that are really important to us will be evident to those who know us.  The things that we only do because we have to, get less care many times.  People will know us by our excellence.

While preparing for Children’s Church, I was reading about the life of Daniel and his, “exceptional qualities:”

Daniel 6:3

3 Now Daniel so distinguished himself among the administrators … by his exceptional qualities that the king planned to set him over the whole kingdom.

Daniel knew that people were watching him and he made it a priority in his life to set an example of excellence.

In our Bible Study last night, this verse was mentioned:

Colossians 3:17

17 Let every detail in your lives—words, actions, whatever—be done in the name of the Master, Jesus, thanking God the Father every step of the way.

Joyce Meyer said, “You can run into mediocrity accidentally but you have to purpose to be excellent.”

I love the fact that my husband likes certain shirts so much that he knows he’ll be comfortable in them and buys several.  I love how a mix-mash of things can be turned into something great tasting when #1 son cooks, how my 2nd son wants to be comfortable during his day in what he puts on, and how son #3 hangs on to his money – all of these are good things.  But it’s even better when they take things to the next level of excellence in what is important in their lives – mediocrity will never do!

It’s the same way in our spiritual lives – knowing that people who don’t know Jesus are watching us: the words that come out of our mouths, our actions and our deeds – shows us our need to be like Daniel, where only the best will do.

Those who know me know how far from perfect I am.  I am a work in progress, striving toward my goal of seeing Jesus face to face one day.  Although I may not achieve the standard of perfection I am after, my desire is there and so I aim for excellence in the hope of pleasing those around me and more importantly, God.

Go out there and be great!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

