Drunk or Loopy?

My body does not take kindly to medicine.  A wee dose can make me loopy!

Due to a shoulder injury, therapy was prescribed for an uncertain amount of weeks, several times per week.  The pain during therapy was so intense, that my doctor prescribed a very small dose of Valium for me to take before each session.  I took my little pill, climbed into the truck and had my husband drive me there.  When we parked and got ready to get out, I told him he’d better come around to help me get out of the truck.  He had to help me out, and I clung to him as I weaved around on the sidewalk like a drunken woman!

Once in therapy, the doctor came up to me to ask if I was ready to begin, and I slurred, “The docthor gafe me thum Valum and if you hoot me, I’m gunna wak wight out heah!”  Scared him  like crazy!  I had a basically worthless therapy session, because I was so doped up I could hardly function, plus I’d scared the doctor so much that he didn’t know what to do!

Not only was that the last time I took the Valium, but I also switched to a different physical therapist and had great success with no need for medication of any kind.  I was always thankful that where I went for therapy with the first doctor was out-of-town, so no one could think I was drunk!

The Bible talks about avoiding the very appearance of evil.  Even though I am far from perfect, I try to please the Lord in all I do.  I would not want to cause someone to stumble because they thought I had been drinking to the point of not being able to walk a straight line!

Watch your thoughts; they become words.
Watch your words; they become actions.
Watch your actions; they become habits.
Watch your habits; they become character.
Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

Author Unknown
 

1 Thessalonians 5:22

 22Abstain from all appearance of evil.

Psalm 19:14

14Let my words and my thoughts

   be pleasing to you, LORD,

   because you are my mighty rock and my protector.

Today, I am sick with a cold or allergies – I think I’ll be careful with my medical doses!!

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

