SCARE AT THE CAR WASH

When I was 8 months pregnant for my first son, I took the car to the car wash.  This particular car wash was one where you get the car in the line, then get out, go inside and watch it being washed as you stand behind the glass window.  I enjoyed watching the sprays and brushes work, knowing that the car was going to look great when it was done.  As the car neared the end of the wash, all of a sudden it dawned on me that I had locked the door with the keys inside when I got out!! In a panic, I rushed over to the attendant inside the building and told him of my dilemma. I just KNEW that the car behind mine was going to crash into the back of mine once the power push was no longer in control and that it was up to the attendant to get inside the car and move it out-of-the-way.  HOW was that going to happen when he couldn’t get in the car????  I must have been a real mess – hugely pregnant, red in the face and worried about messing the car up.  How would I explain this to my husband, or insurance company???  That was almost 29 years ago.  I don’t remember how they managed it, but they got the car moved off the runner and out-of-the-way for the next car to get through.  Boy, did I feel foolish!

There have been many other things in my life that have been scary to me.  I used to have a re-occurring nightmare about a steam roller, aimed right for my Dad.  It had the feeling of terror about it, knowing that I couldn’t stop it from happening.

When I was a child, we would return home from church to see thieves running out of our house when they heard the car, their arms full of our belongings!  The feeling of invasion in the place you are to feel safest was difficult to get over.

There is the fear of disease, of death, of sorrow and pain – the fear of being alone.

There are all kinds of fears in life.  Some are very temporary fears, and others have long-lasting results.  How we handle our fear is what matters and determines whether we will be healthy or not.

When we were children, my brother wood burned this verse, (italics,) into a wall plaque for my grandmother:

Psalm 56:3-4

in You.  In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

Another good, encouraging one is this:

Isaiah 41:13

For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

So whether you are big and pregnant and doing stupid things to scare yourself, or if you’ve had a very deep fear follow you, or you are fearing what lies ahead in your future, take comfort and rest in the fact that God is your Helper and He will see you through!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

