THESE LEGS WERE MADE FOR WALKIN’

My legs were doomed from the start.  As a child, I was a tomboy and my greatest joy was following my brother everywhere he went, trying to do everything he did, a very rough and tumble girl.  To this day, when running my finger along my shin bone, it still  feels like those grooves along the side of the road, you know, the ones letting you know if you are falling asleep and running off the road?

When our youngest son was a baby, our family went to the ocean near where we lived.  Being new to the area, we didn’t know that you do not go into the ocean once the afternoon shadows hit the water.  We were getting ready to leave, so I took him down to the water to rinse the sand off of him.  While pulling him back up to carry him out of the water, something hit my leg like a 2 x 4 had been swung at it, full force!  I thought a shark had taken a bite out of my leg.  The entire leg went numb, I lost all strength, and could barely hang on to my son to get out of the water.  My cries for help were like something out of a nightmare, where your mouth is open, but no sound comes out.  I finally made it to shore, set my son down, and waited for my husband to come over.  I had a deep hole in my leg, clear to the bone.  2 men, one of which was extremely hairy, (remember, we were at the beach!) came over to carry me to the car, so my husband could grab all of the kids and their sand toys. We got in the car, made it to the hospital and I was treated there.  Come to find out, it was a stingray that had sunk his stinger deep into my leg.  I had a needle shot into the 1 1/2″ deep hole, flushing pain killer into it, but there wasn’t anything else they could do except get me back to full strength.  I have a large divot in my leg from that and it will be there until the day I die, reminding me of that incident.  (Don’t even ask me what I think of people who go into pools of water to pet stingrays!!!)

The other week, I had worked at the skate park.  When it was time to close, I locked the doors, turned out the lights, then with my arms loaded down with all I needed to take with me, headed for the exit.  Wham!!!!!  Down I went, everything scattering all over the floor!  A grind rail had been moved to a place in front of the door, and in the dark, I didn’t see it.  The result?  A chunk of my flesh, and a minute piece of bone from – you guessed it – my shin, was missing!!!  One more divot in these poor, ol’ legs of mine!

All of the things that have put their mark on my legs have slowed me down for awhile with each injury, but I bounced back and was ready to keep going.  My bumpy legs are a permanent reminder to me of my life journey.  The same can be said of my spiritual journey.  There have been bumps and bruises along the way, or even worse.  Some of us do better than others when it comes to dealing with certain issues in our lives.  Sometimes we come through with flying colors and there is no damage done, just a growth that stems out of it.  Other times, we may have jumped out of the swing when it was too high up in the air, trying to keep up with others, and we end up hurt.  Other times, horrible things may hit us like a ton of bricks, creating huge divots and hurts, not only to ourselves, but to those around us – the pain is shattering, breaking us…

The thing is, unlike the divots in my legs that are constant reminders to me of my past, Christ gives us a way to put the divots of our lives behind us forever!  He can take our mistakes, our hurts, the awful things we have done that have caused damage, and bind our wounds all up and heal us completely, if we let Him! We can move beyond the injuries and be made beautiful in Him.

2 Corinthians 5:17

17Anyone who belongs to Christ is a new person. The past is forgotten, and everything is new.

Galatians 2:20

20I have died, but Christ lives in me. And I now live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave his life for me.

Romans 5:20

20Yet where sin was powerful, God’s kindness was even more powerful.

 

“Something Beautiful”

[verse]
If you put your arms around me
Could it change the way I feel
I guess I let myself believe
That the outside might just
Bleed it’s way in
Maybe stir the sleeping past
Lying under glass
Waiting for the kiss
That breaks this awful spell
Pull me out…of this lonely cell

[chorus]
Close my eyes and hold my heart
Cover me and make me something
Change this something normal
Into something beautiful

[verse]
What I get from my reflection
Isn’t what I thought I’d see
Give me reason to believe
Never leave me incomplete
Will you untie this loss of mine
It so easily defines me
Do you see it on my face?
And all I can think about
Is how long
I’ve been waiting to feel you move me

[chorus]
Into something beautiful
Into something beautiful

[bridge]
And I’m still fighting for the
Word to break these chains
And I still pray when I look
In your eyes, you’ll stare right
Back down into something beautiful

[chorus]
Into something beautiful
Into something beautiful
Into something beautiful

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

