Mama Bear vs God

While living in Florida, we got a kick out of the moms there saying, “Don’t mess with Mama Bear!”  This was a sentiment I felt deep down, understanding that completely.  As the mother of three young sons, I lived in full Mama Bear mode.  My job was to protect, love and guide them through life.   I cannot think of a single person who got the better of a situation after tangling with me.  To this very day, even though my sons are grown,  I still feel like you can mess with me, but when it comes to my kids, I wouldn’t try it!  Get the picture?

Today while reading in my devotions, this verse popped out:

Exodus 14:14

 14 God will fight the battle for you.
      And you? You keep your mouths shut!”

NO WAY!!!  It’s not in my nature to sit back and let things follow their own course – I am not afraid of confrontation, nor do I fear tackling issues, especially if they involve family.  Could this verse really be trying to tell me that I am to do nothing???  Then, the verse before it:

Exodus 14:13

 13 “Don’t be afraid. Stand firm and watch God do his work of salvation for you today.”

Sometimes, even when we feel that the battle is ours, it belongs to the Lord.  We are to be a reflection of Him – to see His reflection shining through when we look in a mirror!

Proverbs 22:24

 24Bad temper is contagious—
   don’t get infected.

So, do we not defend the defenceless?  Someone needs to do what is right!  Here’s the thing:  we can right the wrongs, but do it in the right way.  There is still no way that anyone will be able to keep me from feeling like a Mama Bear – those are my cubs! Gifts straight from God.  BUT… the way I handle it must be pleasing to God.

All 3 of my sons were dedicated  to God after they were born – the first son was only 8 days old we stood in front of our congregation and vowed our intent to raise him in a manner pleasing to God, teaching and training him according to what God showed us in His Word.  Many times during our sons lives, my husband and I have had to re-dedicate them in our hearts when we realized we were trying to handle it all on our own.  So, you see, the battle IS the Lord’s and how we fight shows Him and the rest of the world whether we are representing, or reflecting, Him well.

2 Peter 3:18

18Let the wonderful kindness and the understanding that come from our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ help you to keep on growing. Praise Jesus now and forever! Amen.

Romans 12:2

2Don’t be like the people of this world, but let God change the way you think. Then you will know how to do everything that is good and pleasing to him.

2 Corinthians 3:18

18 And so we are transfigured much like the Messiah, our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like him.

Oh, and guess what the verse of the day is today?

James 4:10

10 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.

So all of you Mama Bears – keep on defending your young – just do it in a manner that keeps you looking good before the Father.

Come grow with me!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

