SHUT YO MOUTH!

“You may keep your gifts for yourself and give your rewards to someone else.” You don’t hear that one very often! Most of the time we want all we can get and want to be acknowledged for anything we do, whether it is winning an Emmy or being praised in public. Let’s face it – we love acknowledgement!

 
Daniel was brought before the king to interpret his dream, and the king told him that if he was successful, He would be clothed in purple and have a gold chain placed around his neck and be made the 3rd highest ruler in the kingdom. Now, I don’t know about you, but that sounds pretty good!! But Daniel’s answer was the above quote. Still, he was given the rewards and made the 3rd highest ruler in the land for being able to do what no one else could.

 
Daniel so distinguished himself in his new promotion with his exceptional qualities that the King planned to set him over the entire kingdom. Oh, Daniel’s peers got jealous and they tried to find a way to bring charges against him. However, no matter how they tried, they could find no corruption in him, because he was trustworthy and neither corrupt nor negligent in his work. So, they set a plan to trap him. You see, Daniel was a man of God and he prayed by his window three times a day, every day. The men used this as the trap – they got the king to sign a proclamation stating that no one could pray except to the king. The king had no choice but to throw Daniel into the den of lions, to be mauled and eaten alive, or he would lose face.

 
Most of us know this story – Daniel survives the den of lions, walking around with them as if they were his pet dogs! When the king found out that he survived, Daniel said, “My God sent His angel, and He shut the mouths of the lions. They have not hurt me, because I was found innocent in His sight.”

 
Have you ever been done wrong? Ever been accused of something you did not do? Ever been perceived as having said or done something that never happened? It stings, doesn’t it? Right before I lost my job, my boss and his superiors dug in every nook and cranny to try to find something to use against me. He said they couldn’t find anything, so they were just going to make me miserable until I’d leave. I had no need to say anything – my work ethic proved it for me. I, like Daniel, could say, “I was found innocent in His sight!” Like Daniel, my integrity said more than any words that could have come out of my mouth.

 
Sometimes, we want to lash out or lash back at those who intend to harm us or belittle us. Maybe it is better to just shut our mouths and let God take care of it for us. So, be a Daniel – go ahead, I dare ya!

 
Psalm 41:11-13
11Then my enemies
won’t defeat me,
and I will know
that you really care.
12You have helped me
because I am innocent,
and you will always
be close to my side.
13You, the LORD God of Israel,
will be praised forever!
Amen and amen.

 

Psalm 26
1 Clear my name, GOD; I’ve kept an honest shop.
I’ve thrown in my lot with you, GOD, and
I’m not budging.

2 Examine me, GOD, from head to foot,
order your battery of tests.
Make sure I’m fit
inside and out

3 So I never lose
sight of your love,
But keep in step with you,
never missing a beat.

 

Proverbs 28:18
Whoever walks in integrity will be delivered, but he who is crooked in his ways will suddenly fall.

 

And remember, Jesus hung and died on a cross for each one of us, and He never said a mumblin’ word!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SHUT YO MOUTH!

  1. Elayne says:

    Sabe, acho que já lhe disse isso antes. Eu tenho aprendido muito com você! E ler isso pra mim é de grande valor, eu tenho muitas vezes um temperamento forte, de dizer o que penso para as pessoas que me fazem algo que me fere. Algumas pessoas dizem que eu falo na frente das pessoas coisas que muitas não tem coragem de dizer, sei que isso na maioria das vezes não é correto e não é bom. Lendo seu blog, mas precisamente esse de “Boca fechada” me alertou quanto a isso. Preciso deixar Deus tomar conta dessas situações, e deixar Ele agir por mim. Obrigada mais uma vez….Deus continue a te usar!

Leave a Reply

