The Roaches in my Life

Once while visiting family, in the middle of the night, I felt a roach walking across my chest.  It was so dark that there was no way to figure out how to get rid of it.  I was afraid to awaken Clive for fear that just that alone might scare the roach onto my face! As I lay there, nearly paralyzed with fear, I knew that I had to do something, and quickly!  With all the guts I could muster, I took a huge swipe and smacked him off of me.  I heard it hit the wall, so knew that I’d succeeded!  I can’t remember what happened next, but I’m sure Clive didn’t get much sleep until that roach was dead meat!!!

Growing up in Brazil, our family always joked about the roaches that wouldn’t die.  My Dad would come into a room and step on a roach until its guts were trailing out, yet that stupid roach would keep on crawling away!  Ugh.

When we moved to Florida, the plan was to stay overnight in the Fellowship Hall and unpack our moving truck in the morning.  The church people were so excited, though, that they wanted us to see the renovations to the house yet that very night.  Little did we know that they had a food pounding for us, and the kitchen counter was full of canned and boxed goods, awaiting our surprise.  Oh, we were surprised, all right!  When they opened the door and flipped on the light switch, there was a FLURRY of movement all around the food items!  Tons of antennae scurried away, afraid of the light.  Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep that night, either, and my exterminator became a good friend, ha!

One night, we had put the boys to bed and Clive and I were sitting in the living room watching tv.  We kept hearing a sound, but couldn’t place it.  I finally tracked it down:  one of the boys had brought home his paper from school – he had glued Apple Jacks cereal onto construction paper, a capital A and lower case a, and the roach was munching away on the cereal, not worried about me at all!!!!  That is one paper that I did not keep!

While laying in bed one night, I heard the rustle of a shopping bag left laying on the bedroom floor.  I nudged Clive awake and said, “THERE’S A ROACH IN THAT BAG!”  Clive said, “I’m not going to sleep until I kill it, am I?”  We both slept that night…  🙂

And then there was the time I was in the shower and just like a shadow scene out of, “Psycho,” I saw a roach crawling across the shower curtain!  I don’t know who was more scared, he or myself, as I desperately tried to bop him off the curtain!!!

And, yes, one actually DID crawl across my face one night – EWWW!!!

You see, roaches love the dark more than the light.  They can function in daylight, but they much prefer the dark.  I can’t help but think of the similarities of roaches and many people.  We can excuse all kinds of behavior if it’s done in the dark, or no one can see what we do.  We can function in the daylight, knowing that the dark kept our secrets from those around us. The problem with that is that at some point, something or someone will hear us or see us, and we’ll get squished!

Luke 12:2-3

2Everything that is hidden will be found out, and every secret will be known. 3Whatever you say in the dark will be heard when it is day. Whatever you whisper in a closed room will be shouted from the housetops.

Isaiah 29:15

15You are in for trouble, if you try to hide your plans from the LORD! Or if you think what you do in the dark can’t be seen.

Something I have always tried to teach my sons is that if you wouldn’t be comfortable with God standing in the room with you, then your actions or behavior is out of line.

As much as I despise roaches, who knew that they would help teach me a thing or two?  One thing I know, I want to live in the LIGHT!

1 John 1:5-9

5Jesus told us that God is light and doesn’t have any darkness in him. Now we are telling you.

6If we say that we share in life with God and keep on living in the dark, we are lying and are not living by the truth. 7But if we live in the light, as God does, we share in life with each other. And the blood of his Son Jesus washes all our sins away. 8If we say that we have not sinned, we are fooling ourselves, and the truth isn’t in our hearts. 9But if we confess our sins to God, he can always be trusted to forgive us and take our sins away.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Roaches in my Life

  1. annette woosnam says:

    I’m walking in the light Annette

  2. Dorothy Downey says:

    Didn’t know whether to laugh or cry when I read your experiences!LOL Really good article! Enjoyed it and appreciate the truth conveyed. A.Dorothy

Leave a Reply

