Waiting….

Waiting is difficult.  Patience is a virtue, so they say!  It’s a lesson that can certainly take time…

Right now, I am sitting here, waiting on the FedEx truck, as I have a shipment that needs to be signed for when received.  I know he is to be here by 10:30, but that means that he could arrive anytime between the time of the phone call until 10:30!  I was able to get a few things done, but was afraid to jump in the shower, or that would be exactly when he would show up, I just know it!  My garden beckons me, with the weeds and grass standing so tall they shout out, “Look at us!  We are taking over and there is nothing you can do about it!”  The sunshine is glorious, just tempting me to get outside!

I have been learning patience.  There are definitely some things I can handle better than others, you know, those trigger items?  (Normally the ones you have no control over.)  However, over the last 2 years, I have been learning patience in the area of trusting the Lord for my income/work.  I was downsized out of my job 2 years ago.  Fortunately, unemployment kicked in.  Then began the search for work – futile, I must say!  I live in one of the top 3 states in America with the highest unemployment rate, and in the 2nd highest city rated for unemployment.  Basically, there are not enough jobs to go around.  Add to that my age, and my previous experience, and I am out to pasture!

Trusting that God has the overall roadmap for my lap, and a plan that I must not mess up by being impatient, I have been learning to lean on Him through it all.  Not easy, even though I know He has it all under control.  He has been testing my ability to wait for his time-table, providing at the ultimate moment each day.  Even when I get nervous about it all, He comes through.  There are road blocks, detours and sometimes it feels like there are landslides, but through it all, He simply leads the way.

The Bible talks about patience.

Colossians 1:10-12

We pray that you’ll live well for the Master, making him proud of you as you work hard in his orchard. As you learn more and more how God works, you will learn how to do your work. We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out over the long haul—not the grim strength of gritting your teeth but the glory-strength God gives. It is strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright and beautiful that he has for us.

Colossians 3:12

God loves you and has chosen you as his own special people. So be gentle, kind, humble, meek, and patient.

I Timothy 1:16

But since I was worse than anyone else, God had mercy on me and let me be an example of the endless patience of Christ Jesus. He did this so that others would put their faith in Christ and have eternal life.

So join me on this journey in patience.  It isn’t easy, but it brings out things in your life and character that will please God.

Yea!  FedEx arrived – I’m off to tackle my weeds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

