First Love

His name was Eric. He loved me intensely.  He made sure to walk me to school and home again.  He looked out for me, and protected me and watched me with love-sick eyes.  I didn’t understand him or his need to be around me all of the time.  Nor did I appreciate it.  However, that did not stop him from loving me. That was Kindergarten!

I don’t think I realized anything about boy/girl love until 5th grade.  Then I met Keith, with his blonde hair and blue eyes – so different from what I was used to.  All of the sudden, puppy love was in full swing!  My friend and I would close ourselves in the bedroom and gather all of our nerve to call him, then as soon as he answered, hang up the phone.

That was all a long time ago.  Many years later I saw this deeply tanned, gorgeous guy mowing the lawn, and BOOM!  My heart was never to be the same again!  His name was Clive and I married him!  Next month, we will celebrate 29 years of marriage.  Not only have I learned what love is really all about, but when we had our sons, I fell in love all over again.

I think our romantic relationships help us (or hinder us) in knowing how to love God.  You see, physical attraction may be what draws us to a person, but true love develops based on the character and integrity of that person.  With God, Who is unseen, the relationship is developed by Who He is, not what He looks like or if He is physically present to hold us or touch us.  God has promised to be all that we could ever want in a love relationship, but we have to work at it or it will never be.

The movie, “Fireproof,” has a book to go along with it called, “The  Love Dare.”  God’s Word is the, “Love Dare,” for our love relationship with Him.  It is full of love, guidance and instruction, so that we are not left to fumble about as if we can’t figure it out.

You see, Eric thought he was my first love, my husband showed me what true love really is, but the real, lasting love of a lifetime and my FIRST LOVE is Jesus Christ.  Without Him, there is no love!

Proverbs 30:18-19
There are three things that amaze me—
no, four things that I don’t understand:
how an eagle glides through the sky,
how a snake slithers on a rock,
how a ship navigates the ocean,
how a man loves a woman.

Song of Solomon 1:2
Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth— for your love is more delightful than wine.

Song of Solomon 2:16
My lover is mine, and I am his.

Ephesians 5:33
However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

1 John 3:18
Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

1 John 4:8
Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

