Depression, Anxiety & Hopelessness – WAIT! There’s Hope!

The weather has been rainy, dreary and grey.  I’ve heard a lot of people say that depression is setting in.  It can make one feel kind of drowsy.  Life can seem more difficult, the obstacles bigger, the, “mountains,” higher to tackle.  The following is not my words, but one of the, “Discovery,” pages in the Bible I’m reading this year, “The Knowing Jesus Study Bible.”  It hits the mark.

What Matters in the End

There are many times when life seems dark.  We can’t discern what’s ahead, and what’s behind is replete with pain and mistakes.  But whatever the situation, God is a lamp who “turns our darkness into light.”  (2 Samuel 22:29).  David knew that he could turn to God – whether or not he knew what God was doing – and he believed that his heavenly Father would light the darkness before his feet.  Our Savior stated in John 8:12 that he himself is the embodiment of that light:  “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Life can be an uphill battle.  But we can learn as David did that “with god’s help we can advance against a troop” (2 Samuel 22:30).  This seasoned king had led his army into many battles and had personally face mortal combat.  Through it all David had been aware that, in order to persevere, he would need to trust in God.  And Jesus asserted that when we trust God, our enemies will be defeated (John 14:27-20; 15:18-25).  We may not be able to envision a way out of our predicament, but when we keep turning to God, he will give us victory.

Finally, David knew that “with my God I can scale a wall” (2 Samuel 22:30).  No matter what obstacle seemed to stand in his way, he was confident that God would lead him beyond it.  We face obstacles every day.  We can either give up and turn back or trust God to show us a way over, under, around or through the barriers.  When God chooses the destination, nothing will stand in our way!

As if that isn’t enough, here is some good stuff to pull out and read if the darkness seems to be creeping in on you:

2 Samuel 22:17-22; 29; 32 & 33; 47
He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.  He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.  They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support.  He brought me out into in spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me. (!!!!!)  The Lord has dealt with me according to my righteousness; for I have kept the ways of the Lord; You are my lamp, O Lord; the Lord turns my darkness into light.  For who is God besides the Lord?  And who is the Rock except our God?  It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. The Lord lives!  Praise be to my Rock!  Exalted be God, the Rock, my Savior! 

The sun will come out.  Until then, I hope this helps make a difference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

