Itchy Feet

2 Continents, 2 countries, 8 states, 26 houses, 9 schools, 15 churches (between my Dad and my husband.) This has been my life.  That’s not all.  I’ve traveled to 31 of the 50 states in America, plus a few in Canada and South America.  Throw in a couple of tropical islands in the Caribbean and you might understand where I’m going with this!

When you’ve lived in so many places and moved around alot, you know what it means to have, “Itchy Feet!” Winter in the North, especially, make me want to get up and GO!!  I begin to feel cooped up, caged in, longing to get my bare feet in some nice, warm, wonderfully scented, green grass!  I long for the sun, for warm breezes, instead of a biting, cold wind.  Ah, summer cannot come too quickly for me!

This video kind of describes how I feel:

 

Before I lost my job a couple of years ago, my husband and I were beginning to enjoy taking off on minications, just the 2 of us.  We got so excited about the planning of the trips and looking forward to going away that it helped me get through the cold winters.  We still dream of a couple of trips that didn’t happen, and hope one day to be able to still take them.  I love to travel!

So, I get itchy feet if I stay in one place too long.  We have lived where we are now for the longest I have lived anywhere in my life at one time, except for Brazil, where I grew up.  We dream of where we will spend retirement, hoping that we will be able to have our own little home and do some traveling along the way.

I’ve been blessed.  I’ve lived a life like none other.  I’ve seen, and lived, in a lot of places, and hope to see a lot more.

Still, there’s one place I cannot visit until I’m ready to stay for good and put away my “Itchy Feet.”  I have lived my entire life just waiting to get there!  It will be the most beautiful place I have ever seen, it’s lushness and perfection – total awe.  I long to see what creation is like under God’s perfection!  Heaven! I’m going there. I’m preparing for the trip while I’m still here.  (No need to pack, you just need to do the planning and preparation!)  Hope you plan to take that trip, too – hope to see you there!

Suggested book: “Heaven,” by Randy Alcorn

Philippians 3:20-21 20-21But there’s far more to life for us. We’re citizens of high heaven! We’re waiting the arrival of the Savior, the Master, Jesus Christ, who will transform our earthy bodies into glorious bodies like his own. He’ll make us beautiful and whole with the same powerful skill by which he is putting everything as it should be, under and around him.

1 Corinthians 2:9

9But it is just as the Scriptures say,”What God has planned for people who love him is more than eyes have seen or ears have heard. It has never even entered our minds!”

Revelation 21

1I saw Heaven and earth new-created. Gone the first Heaven, gone the first earth, gone the sea. 2I saw Holy Jerusalem, new-created, descending resplendent out of Heaven, as ready for God as a bride for her husband. 3-5I heard a voice thunder from the Throne: “Look! Look! God has moved into the neighborhood, making his home with men and women! They’re his people, he’s their God. He’ll wipe every tear from their eyes. Death is gone for good—tears gone, crying gone, pain gone—all the first order of things gone.” The Enthroned continued, “Look! I’m making everything new. Write it all down—each word dependable and accurate.”

21-27The main street of the City was pure gold, translucent as glass. But there was no sign of a Temple, for the Lord God—the Sovereign-Strong—and the Lamb are the Temple. The City doesn’t need sun or moon for light. God’s Glory is its light, the Lamb its lamp! The nations will walk in its light and earth’s kings bring in their splendor. Its gates will never be shut by day, and there won’t be any night. They’ll bring the glory and honor of the nations into the City. Nothing dirty or defiled will get into the City, and no one who defiles or deceives. Only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s Book of Life will get in.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Itchy Feet

  1. Pam says:

    Wonderful post Barb! I am so glad that one of your stops along the journey was in Hudson, Michigan! And also Spring Street!
    I am looking forward to Heaven too, and am fully enjoying the journey and preparation along the way. I am planning on taking as many with me as I can. Gary has been reading Randy Alcorns book too! I guess I will read it soon too. I did enjoy “Heaven is for Real” by the Todd Burpo. (a Wesleyan pastor too!) Blessings along the Way! Pam

  2. Lynn McMonigal says:

    So glad that God led you to CWC, Barb!! You and Clive have been such a blessing in our lives. And you gave us the most wonderful role model we could ever hope our children to have!

    Lynn

  3. Dorothy Downey says:

    Really enjoyed this, Barb, and can understand your feelings completely! This is the first time in 57 years of marriage that we have lived in our own home, and I keep having the feeling that I’ll be moving soon.Ha., But I wouldn’t trade God’s calling on our lives for anything. We would do it all over again if our health would permit! We lived in some beautifui parsonages that our Christian friends supplied for us, and we thank them, but there’s nothing like living in our very own place that God has given us! PTL. Aunt Dorothy and Uncle Evan

Leave a Reply

