And the Award Goes To…

The Academy Awards have come and gone for another year.  There used to be a time when I would watch avidly, see what they all were wearing, who showed up with what date, and I’d pick my winners in advance.  Now?  Not so much.  In fact, this year, I nearly missed the entire buzz, so little was my interest in the Awards!

Fame.  Pride. It does crazy things to people.

My Dad was well-known all over in the Wesleyan denomination.  His name was used with respect and admiration.  I’ve tried to not shame the Downey name, although I haven’t always succeeded!  There have been times when I’ve been treated rather shabbily where I have thought, “Don’t you know who I am?” Pride.  What a beast!

In Numbers 12:2, Moses’ brother and sister wanted his, “fame.”  They felt that Moses got all of the glory and they wanted in on it.  Moses, like my Dad, was a very humble man, 3 (Now Moses was a very humble man, more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth.) The Lord’s anger burned against Aaron and Miriam and Miriam became white with leprosy!  Moses stepped in and asked God for mercy for his siblings.

I am a child of God.  I never want to shame His name!  When things or my station in life seem more important than how I live for Him, it can bring shame to God and to myself.

My hearts desire is to represent God in everything I do and say.  THAT is the only, “claim to fame,” I need!!

Psalm 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.

Psalm 139:23 O God, let the secrets of my heart be uncovered, and let my wandering thoughts be tested.

Jeremiah 17:9 & 10 “The heart is hopelessly dark and deceitful,
a puzzle that no one can figure out.
But I, God, search the heart
and examine the mind.
I get to the heart of the human.
I get to the root of things.
I treat them as they really are,
not as they pretend to be.”

Isaiah 23:9 The LORD Almighty planned it,
to bring down her pride in all her splendor
and to humble all who are renowned on the earth.

  • Read the story of Moses, Aaron & Miriam in Numbers 12:2-16.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

